Fulton Awards 2017: Celebrating Excellence and Innovation

Fulton Awards 2017 Fulton Awards 2017

The Concrete Society of Southern Africa NPC is calling for nominations for its prestigious biennial Fulton Awards which recognise and honour excellence and innovation in the design and use of concrete.

The awards continue to celebrate the legacy of scientific and technological advances in concrete within the built environment, and the late Dr. ‘Sandy’ Fulton’s life and achievements in the industry.

The 2017 awards take on a new look with brand new categories, and a new approach to judging, and the Society is proud to announce that PPC are, once again, the Anchor Sponsor for the Awards.

According to the John Sheath, CEO and Director of the Concrete Society, after more than 30 years of the Awards’ existence, some serious updating was required in terms of both the criteria for adjudication of the entries and the entry categories themselves, many of which had been in existence for the lifetime of the awards.

“We had drifted away from identifying all that was special and exceptional in the concrete, Sheath said, “and in the opinion of the Fulton Awards Committee, we were focusing too much on the total project on hand, considering aspects that had little to do with the material”.

So, irrespective of category, the criteria for adjudication that the judges will be using are:

  •   Quality of concrete – focusing on finish
  •   Sustainability – green building initiatives
  •   Inventiveness/innovation in the application of concrete technology
  •   Innovation in concrete construction methods
  •   Innovative geotechnical use of concrete
  •   Overall aesthetic impact of the concrete aspects of the structure
  •   Rational behind the chosen concrete finish
  •   Standard of workmanship of the concrete
  •   Effect of the concrete on the architectural landscape and environment

Some unique criteria will apply to the Innovation in Concrete category:

  •    Significance of the use/application of the innovation
  •    Industry need for this innovation
  •    Does it address or contribute to sustainability issues?
  •    Will it make concrete more competitive and therefore, grow the market?

The procedure for nominations has also changed. These can be made on-line through the Society’s website and will require a short motivation as to why it is felt that the nomination is worthy of an award. The judges will assess these nominations and a short-list of entries will be drawn up for subsequent adjudication on site. 

The deadline for nominations to be made is 31st August 2016, while the completed Entry Packs have to be submitted by the end of November 2016. The Award winners will be announced at a special gala weekend to be held in Drakensburg from 2nd to 4th June 2017.

Full details of the 2017 awards are available on the Concrete Society website at

back to top


About us

Follow us

Follow us @BusinessNewsCT

BusinessNewsCT 6 trends you need to know about if you want to open a franchise in South Africa in 2019
BusinessNewsCT This is what your credit score should be and how to improve it
BusinessNewsCT What Joburg, Cape Town and Durban’s best areas for property growth have in common